Except For BJP’s Devendra Fadnavis And Congress’ Vasantrao Naik, No Chief Minister Of Maharashtra Has Completed Its Tenure; Will Uddhav Thackeray Be The Exception?

With Exception Of The Late Vasantrao Naik, Devendra Fadnavis No Chief Minister Of Maharashtra Could Complete Five-Year Tenure


The slogan “I will come again” gained huge popularity in 2019. The reason for this was the presentation made by the then Hon’ble Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis. After completing a full five-year term from 2014 to 2019, the Maharashtra Assembly elections were contested under his leadership. Therefore, his confidence was so high that in any case, he believed the BJP will come to power on its own in Maharashtra or the BJP-Sena coalition government will form the way it was a success in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. But his overconfidence in the Shiv Sena for granted was shattered and history was made in Maharashtra.

However expert and senior politician Sharad Pawar managed to turn the tables against Devendra fadnavis. Because Devendra fadnavis had not only won the election in 2014 but also became the non-Congress Chief Minister who completed his full five-year term but at the same time, he also has the record for being the Chief Minister for the shortest tenure of that was for only 80 hours. This record is not limited to Maharashtra but it is also worth recording at the national level.


Maharashtra’s Exception

The reason for mentioning all this is that with the exception of the late Vasantrao Naik, the Congress despite being in power with the absolute majority of Maharashtra for so many years but has not been able to complete its five-year tenure with any of the Chief Ministers of Maharashtra. Manohar Joshi, the first Chief Minister of the BJP-Sena alliance in 1994, is no exception. He too remained in office for four years and 11 months and Narayan Rane remained the Chief Minister for only 11 months. Elections were fought under his leadership, but in 1999 there was a change of government.

Maharashtra’s Chief Ministers’ Legacy

The Congress has a legacy of short-term and help-time Chief Ministers in Maharashtra. Maharashtra’s first Chief Minister Yashwantrao Chavan too is no exception. In 1962, Nehru appointed Chavan as the Defense Minister and Kannamwar as the second Chief Minister of Maharashtra. And a saying got popular that Shayadri mountain went for the help of the Himalayas. His tenure was also two and a half years. Later, P. K. Sawant was sworn in as the third Chief Minister of Maharashtra. That is, in the first five years of United Maharashtra, Maharashtra saw sworn in of three Chief Ministers.

Vasantrao Naik’s 11 Years Tenure

Later this tradition was broken and Maharashtra got Vasantrao Naik as the Chief Minister for 11 consecutive years and he took the lion’s share in bringing stability to the state of Maharashtra. Meanwhile, after many upheavals at the Center, the Congress party came under the control of the late former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi. Leaders at the Center must have always felt insecure about leadership in Maharashtra. Therefore, no leader in Maharashtra has been allowed to rule freely for the full five years.

With the exception of Vasantrao Naik, Shankarao Chavan and Vasantdada Patil ruled Maharashtra for three years, even though they were not in power at the Center during the Emergency. Vasantdada Patil was sworn in as the Chief Minister twice.

Even Sharad Pawar Couldn’t Complete Tenure

Two years later, Hon’ble Sharad Pawar succeeded in Pulod and became the Chief Minister. However, it is said that he betrayed the congress leadership. Later, in the ’80s, the Congress came to power again and barrister A. R. Antulay became the Chief Minister. His decisions increased his popularity so much that the central leadership got worried and involved him in a cement scam which resulted in his resignation in two years.

Central Government’s Politics With Maharashtra

Regarding Maharashtra, the central leadership has not allowed any Chief Minister of Maharashtra to complete his term of 5 years while maintaining this tradition. They always appointed leaders as the state president who was of the opposite group of the chief minister. In 1994, the Congress government in Maharashtra was overthrown and the first non-Congress Sena-BJP coalition government was formed. Manohar Joshi of Shiv Sena became the Chief Minister but the remote control of power was in the hands of late Shiv Sena chief Balasaheb Thackeray. But then for the last 11 months, Narayan Rane was appointed as the Chief Minister.


NCP’s Formation In 1999

In 1999, the Congress split and Sharad Pawar’s NCP was established in Maharashtra. These parties fought differently in the Maharashtra Assembly elections but neither of them got the absolute majority and a coalition government was formed in the state. And a clever leader like Vilasrao Deshmukh was unanimously elected as the Chief Minister. Vilasrao set the standard for running a coalition government. But unfortunately, he too had to resign after four years and Sushil Kumar Shinde was elected as the Chief Minister for one year.

The 2004 elections were fought and won under the leadership of Sushil Kumar Shinde as the central leadership faith in him. However, Vilasrao Deshmukh was re-appointed as the Chief Minister as he was known for his skills of working with a coalition government, but unfortunately due to the Mumbai attacks, he had to resign as the Chief Minister. Later, Ashok Chavan and Prithviraj Chavan served as Chief Ministers for two and a half years and three years respectively.

Will Uddhav Thackeray Be An Exception?

In Maharashtra, with two exceptions, no Chief Minister has completed five years. Maharashtra’s kingmaker and senior leader Sharad Pawar is also no exception to that. At present, the three-party alliance’s Chief Minister Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray can become one of the exceptions if he completes the full five years term it will turn out to be a blessing for the state. As stability is of utmost importance for governance.